Black Music & Entertainment Will Honor MJ, Beyonce, & More

LEGENDS & ICONS OF MUSIC - Kevin Douglas Article

black music and entertainment

It’s “Black Music Month” and Atlanta will be the home of the walk of fame for “Black Music and Entertainment“.

Quincy Jones, James Brown and Otis Redding  were chosen as “foundational inductees” for the Black Music & Entertainment Walk of Fame, which will be installed in the historic downtown Atlanta area on the sidewalks of Martin Luther King Jr. and Northside drives.

The Walk of Fame is designed “to honor iconic individuals and organizations that have impacted Black culture and community alongside those who continue to lead us into the future,” according to a statement.

Jones, 87, is the only foundational inductee who is still living. Redding died in 1967; Brown in 2006. Michael Jackson was awarded out of his fellow Motown alumni for  legacy artist which consisted of — Lionel Richie, Diana Ross, Stevie Wonder and Chaka Khan.

The Walk of Fame was created by Michael Mauldin and Demmette Guidry, founders of Black American Music Association, and Georgia State Representative Erica Thomas and Catherine Brewton, founders of the Georgia Entertainment Caucus. Mauldin is a former Columbia Records president of Black music.

During the “Crown Jewel of Excellence” ceremony, the following entertainers will be named as the inaugural inductees for the Black Music & Entertainment Walk of Fame:

  • Beyoncé Knowles
  • James Brown
  • Kirk Franklin
  • Michael Jackson
  • Missy Elliot
  • Otis Redding
  • Outkast
  • Quincy D. Jones
  • Sean “Love” Combs
  • Shirley Caeser
  • Stevie Wonder
  • Usher Raymond IV

The inaugural ceremony will be held June 17 from 11 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. at the corner of Martin Luther King Jr. and Northside drives. It is open to the public.